The lights in my flat go on and off

 

I love my place in London. It’s small and cozy, it’s not too pricey and it’s close to a tube station.

 

But…

 

I have been having light problems since day 1. The day I moved in, I noticed the light at the dining area is not working, so I asked them to fix it. And they did, sort of. They took the light at our front door and change it to the one at the dining area, so instead of having a dark dining area, I had a dark front door which is better than eating in the dark, so we lived with it for about 2 months and they finally repaired the light at the front door.

After 2 months of living in a semi-dark flat, my flatmate and I were happy to have a flat with all the lights working, but only for a while. Our happy time didn’t last for long. On the next day, the light at the dining area stopped working…

 

So yes, the one they changed from the front door to the dining area was broken too.

 

And we told the building maintenance person about this, he said they would need to order more lights because they didn’t have any in stock at the moment, so we waited

 

and waited until sometime around December.

 

 

Our kitchen light joined the dark side…

yes-embrace-the-2ipjpx.jpg

(image retrieved from: https://makeameme.org/meme/yes-embrace-the-2ipjpx)

 

 

We went on living with two lights off until a few days ago, the building maintenance person finally had our lights fixed.

 

And ‘there was light’

 

 

The funny thing is we noticed that the light in our bathroom was flickering…

 

We knew it was a bad sign and told the building manager that it might need replacing otherwise we would have to shower in the dark which is not as romantic as it sounds.

 

The building manager came to check on the light and of course, when he was here the light seemed fine. There was no sign of flickering, so he left.

 

 

 

And yesterday, the light went out just like we expected

 

 

 

 

Oh well…

 

They say they would fix it on Monday. Let’s hope that they do.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The lights in my flat go on and off

Leave a comment