Phases of creative writing

 

I have been working on my own screenplay for a while and I have noticed a tricky situation going on…

 

This circle goes on almost every time I write… When I first start writing, I feel great about my idea and think that I have a decent piece of work with great potentials. I am happy about the mystery boxes I put in the plot and extremely content about the characters because they feel real and my story not at all cheesy, so I go to bed with a promising hope in heart and a smile on the face.

The next day, I start questioning if I have fit too many things in just a few minutes of content and will anyone else get it? Or I start to think my characters are lame and boring. Or the mystery box is not mysterious enough. Or there are just simply not enough conflict and tension in my script. So I start with my revision and the more I read the story, the worse I feel about it. “This is not good at all. Why do I think it is good in the first place. EUUUHH” I don’t feel good about continue writing it, so I decide to take a tiny break from it.

 

 

That break then turns into a long vacation.

And that piece of work becomes an abandoned project.

 

 

And I start another project and circle of writing phase goes on again.

 

It is very frustrating to see those unfinished project piling up in the folder and they are all there reminding me of my failure.

 

But I think I will be able to end this circle.

I got a piece of advice from an experienced screenwriter. “Keep writing even if you hate your work, just keep writing until you finish it”

 

 

“Ok”

 

 

Leave a comment